“Sĭk'lĭk” is an abbreviation for the words “Sick Lyric."  The Sĭk'lĭk program is an annual Youth Poetry Slam competition and Writing/Performance Workshop.

The event is open to middle and high school students in the Tarrant and Dallas counties. Participants receive prizes, including T-shirts and electronics, and are entertained by a special guest musician. IP will host its fourth annual Sik'lik event at TCU's Moudy Auditorium on Nov. 22, 2014.

Are you up to the challenge?


Hosted by National Award-Winning Poet:

Mike Guinn

Special Guest Musician:

 (You have to be present to find out)


Impossible Possibilities' 4th Annual Sĭk'lĭk Youth Poetry Slam and Writing Workshop.


Nov. 22, 2014. The Writing and Performance Workshop runs from 5:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. and the Poetry Slam from 6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.


Texas Christian University's Moudy Auditorium 141N, located on the corner of S. University Dr. and W. Cantey St. in the J.M. Moudy Visual Arts and Communication Building. The university address is 2800 S. University Dr., Fort Worth, TX, 76129.


Middle and High school students (public, private or home school) in the Tarrant or Dallas counties are eligible to apply.


Admission is FREE to poetry/workshop participants and to the general public.

Poetry Slam Registration:

Students interested in performing must submit an original poem, along with a completed Event Registration Form no later than Friday, Nov. 7, 2014. The organization's designated event committee will review each selection.

Workshop Registration:

Students must submit a completed Event Registration Form no later than Friday, Nov. 7, 2014, to participate in the Writing Workshop. Members of the Fort Worth National Poetry Slam Team and writing professionals from the DFW area will help facilitate the workshop, which will focus on stage performance and writing techniques. Workshop Participants DO NOT need to submit a poem with their registration forms.


Registration Forms can be emailed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. Students may also mail the forms to:

Impossible Possibilities
PO Box 470906
Fort Worth, TX, 76147

Structure and Time Limits:

Students competing in the Poetry Slam competition must be ready to deliver TWO of their best and most powerful presentations of poetry or spoken word. Individual performances may not exceed THREE minutes. Guest judges will score the students on Content, Originality and Presentation. The contestants with the highest score from Round 1 will move onto Round 2 and compete for a chance to claim the inaugural Sĭk'lĭk Championship!


Impossible Possibilities will not tolerate explicative language or language that is deemed offensive or inappropriate.


Each poetry slam contestants will receive an original Sĭk'lĭk T-shirt, and finalists will compete for additional prizes, including a Nook, Beats Earbud Headphones, iPod Shuffle, TCU football, tickets to the Fort Worth Zoo, two sets of tickets to the Flight Deck Trampoline Park, tickets to the Fort Worth Science Museum, Staples gift card and Movie Tavern tickets.


Free parking is available in the lot located on the corner of W. Cantey and S. University Dr. across the street from J.M. Moudy Visual Arts and Communication Building.


For additional questions, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Click Here to print out your registration form. Click Here to view the Sik'lik Promotional Flyer.

2013 Siklik Photo Gallery

2013 Sik'lik Youth Poetry Slam and Writing Workshop. National-award winning poet Mike Guinn hosts the Sik'lik program with DJ Ant in the background Students seek out advice during the writing workshop. Others make last minute edits to their poems before the first round of competition begins. One last review before it's time to take the stage. Special guest performer Nice Major entertains and then talks to the students about the creative writing process during the first intermission. High School student Dillion Youngblood claims the honors of 2013 Sik'lik Champion with a perfect score in each round of competition. Daasia Montgomery claims the 2013 Sik'lik Middle School Championship. High school student Deion Hightower performs during the second round. 2013 Sik'lik Poetry Slam Participants pose with Impossible Possibilities staff.

TCU Moudy Auditorium

 TCU Moudy Auditorium

Fort Worth Poetry Slams

Fort Worth National Poetry Slams

Make a Donation Today

Tie into the Movement

Wear The Gear

Click to Purchase

Make a Donation

Help make the impossible possible by donating.


Advisory Board

Dotted P Logo Join the IP Advisory Board and participate in program committees, speaker series, and networking events.


Read More

Newsletter Subscription

Please include your first and last name.

Receive HTML?

Joomla : Impossible Possibili
RocketTheme Joomla Templates